Reviews

 

  •  

    Andy

    Greenwood, IN

    "I cannot recommend this cozy little cottage enough! A perfect location with a wonderfully pleasant host; it is tucked away just far enough off of a gravel road, only 10-15 minutes to Linton, IN (highly recommend Joetta's Pizza in town! Great food, music, drinks, rooftop patio) Rufus the dog was very cool, he visited us daily & hung out with us by the pond side fire ring in the evening. He eats anything & was a very friendly & welcomed visitor :) The cottage was PERFECTLY rustic but had all of the modern touches you could want, new construction, comfy beds, incredible shower with a HEATED FLOOR! The ice maker even made crystal clear ice cubes- lol When I didn't think it could possibly get any better, the bright starry night sky & distant train just put everything over the top for me- I LOVE hearing a train softly in the distance. We all slept like babies and celebrated a very memorable & Happy New Years Eve there. A most worthwhile, comfortable place to stay- for several days if you can! Enjoy!"


    Seymour, Indiana

    “A small piece of Heaven on earth!”

    Left on 12/31/2015 for a stay in December 2015  |  Michelle L Reviewed Dec 31, 2015 Stayed Dec 2015

    I would have to say the owners of this cabin have out done themselves. Every detail is PERFECT! We can not wait to take another vacation to this cabin when the weather is warm to do some fishing in the private pond. Very private location, very peaceful & relaxing getaway....you wont be disappointed!

    Detailed ratings for this rental

    • Bathroom cleanliness
    • Bedding & mattresses
    • Value
    • Access
    • Other facilities & amenities
    • Overall condition
    • Booking
    • Kitchen & utensils

    Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

    Recommended for: Travelers, Friends, Families w children

    Response from the owner, Pleasant Grove Farm - 01/01/2016

    Music to our ears!


  • “Perfect Get Away”

    Left on 11/04/2015 for a stay in October 2015  |  Michelle H Reviewed Nov 4, 2015 Stayed Oct 2015

    The cottage and it's amenities are first rate! Everything from the bedding to the towels are high quality. There was even new couch delivered while we were there that was beautiful and comfortable. We had a wonderful time and want to go back again soon!


    Indianapolis, Indiana

    “Goose Pond Cottage”

    Left on 10/17/2015 for a stay in October 2015  |  Scott G Reviewed Oct 17, 2015 Stayed Oct 2015

    My wife and I were very impressed with the "Goose Pond Cottage". The owners gave a great deal of attention to virtually every detail to make the cottage a comfortable getaway. I would rate the cottage higher but was disappointed in the fishing, which was no fault of the owners. Water levels in all the area lakes, including those on the farm property, were well down due to low rainfall amounts.
    Anyone looking for a lovely spot to spend several days, or more, bird watching or looking at the Fall colors in southern Indiana will be hard pressed to find a better location. When water levels return to normal I'm sure the fishing will be excellent in the many area lakes.

    Response from the owner, Pleasant Grove Farm - 10/18/2015

    Yes not a good time for fishing or hunting. We do keep both our ponds stocked. Our 30-acre private wildlife habitat has an abundance of Quail and plentiful deer too but the deer have been elusive with this weather.


  • “GREAT WEEKEND......”

    Left on 09/13/2015 for a stay in September 2015  |  Carolyn H Reviewed Sep 13, 2015 Stayed Sep 2015

    If your looking for the experience of staying in the country and listening to nothing but nature this is a great place to go My Husband and I had such a relaxing weekend and so peaceful hearing acorns dropping from a tree into the pond or frogs jumping into the water We did some fishing and I just happened to catch a nice size Catfish. Loved sitting by the bond fire and at a far distance we could hear a chain saw going Loved it. Cabin was so cozy and clean and a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere the whole place was just fantastic and can't wait to go back again.

    Response from the owner, Pleasant Grove Farm - 09/14/2015

    What we love to hear and strive for. Looking forward to your next visit.


  • Hebron, Indiana

    “Best getaway!!!”

    Left on 09/04/2015 for a stay in September 2015  |  Jennifer S Reviewed Sep 4, 2015 Stayed Sep 2015

    My husband and I stayed for 3 days and wish we could have stayed longer!!! They have thought of everything!! The cottage was clean and well stocked with everything you could think of!! The bathroom shower was amazing and the bed was very comfortable. There is a loft with two twin beds to bring the kids along. There is a stocked pond right out your front door and a dog that comes by makes the place even cozier!! We will be back again! If you are looking for a relaxing getaway I highly recommend this cottage!!


    Indiana

    “Relaxing Weekend Getaway!”

    Left on 08/03/2015 for a stay in August 2015  |  Natalie G Reviewed Aug 3, 2015 Stayed Aug 2015

    This cottage is perfect for a couple just wanting to spend some time alone. The countryside is beautiful and the scenery is peaceful and serene. A great little place to go "recharge"! We stayed for a weekend and wished we could have stayed longer. The cottage is simply beautiful, very clean, and has its own charm. Outdoors is very quiet, lots of wildlife...rabbits, squirrels, and lots of birds. The pond is literally 20 feet from the front door. You can fish if you like as they supplied the poles and tackle box. Lots of privacy! The beds are comfortable and everything is very clean and tastefully decorated. Love the full kitchen and has a great bathroom. Loft with twin beds very cute, although we did not use. I give this place 5 stars! We will definitely be back!! :-)


    “Very clean, cozy, weekend to remember!”

    Left on 05/05/2015 for a stay in May 2015  |  Carol J Reviewed May 5, 2015 Stayed May 2015

    Great place to celebrate a treasured anniversary! Loved being alone, across the road from the farm. Excellent decor and extra touches to make it a homie experience. We are looking forward to our next trip there!


  • Hilton Head Island, SC

    “A beautiful, peaceful place”

    Left on 05/04/2015 for a stay in April 2015  |  John_F75 Reviewed May 4, 2015 Stayed Apr 2015

    My wife and I spent two nights in this cozy cottage. It is located directly beside the Goose Pond preserve, and also has its own small pond next to the front porch. The kitchen is stocked with some food items, which you pay for on the honor system, in case you didn't bring some food with you--quite a nice touch. It has a full size refrigerator with ice maker, and a full size four burner stove and oven, plus a microwave. Plenty of utensils, plates, pots & pans etc--I wish we could have stayed a week! The bath has a heated tile floor and a large shower--plenty of towels and wash cloths. There is a huge satellite TV and great internet connection. It's really hard to believe that you are staying in the middle of nowhere--very quiet and peaceful. Great for families with two kids who would sleep on twin beds in the loft with the parents in the private queen bed room on the ground floor.

    Just a couple of suggestions--the master bedroom could use an additional lamp on the other end-table. Also, additional lighting is needed under the stair well to provide light for the table.

    Hopefully, we'll be able to make another trip to Goose Pond a little earlier in the year so we can take advantage of seeing the thousands of migrating birds--we'll definitely stay in this cottage again.

    Response from the owner, Pleasant Grove Farm - 05/07/2015

    Great suggestions on the extra lights and we will provide. Thank you for your comments.
    Nadine


  • “Peaceful and serene”

    Left on 04/07/2015 for a stay in April 2015  |  Shawn O Reviewed Apr 7, 2015 Stayed Apr 2015

    Cottage was everything it was supposed to be quiet and peaceful loved it I will book again thank you for the great weekend
    ps the blackberry cobbler was delicious


    “Goosepond Glory”

    Left on 03/23/2015 for a stay in March 2015  |  A FlipKey verified reviewer Reviewed Mar 23, 2015 Stayed Mar 2015

    Stayed in this cottage for three nights. My boyfriend joined me on the first night, and my immediate family came for the second two nights. We had such a great time. The owners and housekeepers kept the place well stocked with things that you always forget to bring (bug spray, lighter for the fire, etc.). There were lots of birds around the area, and it was peaceful and serene. If you're from the city, make sure to look at the stars at night, and check out the beautiful sunset.

Perfect Getaway

4.8 on March 23, 2015

Enjoyed three nights in the cottage with my loved ones. Had a perfect sunset view and the stars were incredible. The housekeeper and owner did a great job with the details of our stay and the things we needed. We caught four fish in the pond. The pictures do not do this place justice, especially on a beautiful spring day.


Quick weekend stay

4.0 on September 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time in this small, quant establishment. One itme that could be added to inhance the experiance would be a dehumidifier, to bring down some of the humidity in the cabin.


Accomodation for visiting colleague.

5 on July 10, 2014

I work locally and had to arrange accommodations for a visiting colleague. Our guest was very pleased with the cabin and the entire facility at Pleasant Grove Farms and is looking forward to coming back. Thank you for providing this awesome facility!


Our family reunion

4.8 on June 25, 2014

Our stay at Pleasant Grove Farms was very enjoyable. We came in from NC for a family reunion and was so pleased with our stay. A beautiful stay in the country was so peaceful and quite. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a nice and beautiful place to stay. Thank you so much.


An wonderful retreat

5 on June 18, 2014

I stayed at the Lake House, which is new and fully accommodating. The property is lovely with its water, dock, dock house, huge yard, gardens, maze, and orchards. I saw a pair of Bald Eagles, though I wasn't certain at first that my eyes weren't deceiving me. I learned that the property is near The Goosepond, a protected wetlands area with nesting pairs of the Bald Eagles. I had visits from deer, also. My stay was restful, relaxing, and much-needed. Each morning, I took my coffee in the big rocking chair out on the dock and watched the purple martins swoop up pond bugs for breakfast. The groundskeeper was perfectly attentive (when I needed him) and left me to enjoy my stay otherwise. I highly recommend this property. I will most definitely stay again.


Cottage Review

5 on April 07, 2014

We stayed at this cottage last fall. So cozy and comfortable! With the fully equipped kitchen, you could make a full meal if you wanted...or just pop some popcorn in the microwave and enjoy a movie. The bathroom had heated floors, which was really cool. The porch has a nice swing which looks out onto the pond. Very relaxing. We will definitely stay here again.


Marsh Madness reservation

4.4 on March 10, 2014

The cottage was reserved for our speaker at our festival event. He shared that he really enjoyed the quiet, and that the sleeping accommodations were excellent. Thanks for the very comfortable stay and all the correspondences.


Pleasant Grove "Home"

4.6 on December 01, 2013

We love staying as is home away from home location. An important distinction is that this is like small home rental and not a B&B. It's totally decked out with everything you need, just bring your bags, food and binoculars. The owner and staff and wonderful - the Christmas light display is spectacular! Enjoy.


Pleasant Grove!

5 on August 27, 2013

The best place to stay in southern Indiana! Right next to one of the premier birding areas in the country. Lots to do in the surrounding area and Pleasant Grove makes a superb "home base." There is a fully equipped kitchen and bbq grill at your disposal to enjoy the local harvest.


Serene setting: Peaceful and beautiful

4.0 on July 30, 2013

Our stay at Pleasant Grove B&B was just what we needed - a secluded setting with a front porch overlooking a beautiful pond and sunsets and back porch overlooking the Indiana hills and sunrises. Lots of nature sounds - and nothing else (since we weren't interested in watching TV). The two full bedrooms, full kitchen, living room, and bonus room way exceeded our expectations. We felt right at home. To our knowledge, breakfast wasn't actually included - but we didn't ask.

sible both here and on your public profile.

  •  

    Home was exactly as described. It is a small place but very liveable. Beautiful well maintained grounds. We saw several deer and a turkey which was fun. Great fishing in the area and a nice golf course close by.

    Response from John:
    Thanks Jeffery! This is for the Scout Cabin. AirBnB lumps both our facilities together and they are quite different. Could cause confusion. I will put a power strip in the Scout Cabin for gadgets. I have a few myself! The Cottage has plenty I think?

    What Jeffrey loved about your listing:
    Very private. Great!

    What Jeffrey thought you could improve about the experience:
    Only issue, we had we could have used a couple more electrical outlets. People have lots of gadgets to charge now days.

    August 2015


  •  

    Our stay at the Scout Cabin was great. Everything was as described and better. The house was delightful and everything in and around the cabin was as promise. John was very generous and hospitable. Prior to our arrival all communication was answered promptly and questions answered.


    What Peggy loved about your listing:
    When John found out my son and I were geocachers he hid one on the farm just for us to find. He shared the garden veggies (the tomatoes were delicious). I would stay here again and would recommend it highly to others.

    What Peggy thought you could improve about the experience:
    We enjoyed everything about our stay and wouldn't change a thing.

    August 2015


  •  

    Nice little cabin on a little pond. All the amenities you would need. And it was nice to have a kitchen since it's located about 10 miles from the middle of nowhere. Not particularly bright inside (not much natural light), but the outside area is nice and there is a nice swing. Bugs weren't too bad.

    June 2015


  •  

    I'm not sure how to choose the best thing. Truly. The welcome from John and others that work around the place, the helpful spices in the cabinet, comfortable mattress, fabulous shower, the thoughtful snacks in the fridge, location, location, location if you want to see birds and bullfrogs, the four-footed friend that appeared and adopted me for the duration of my stay, the robin on her nest, the three sightings of an indigo bunting . . . the quiet. So wonderfully quiet. Like being in another country.


    What Catherine loved about your listing:
    The cabin itself is inviting because it's well maintained (and new). It matters, as you know. And as you also know, there is not another cabin in sight. I wanted the solitude to write my poems, and I found it, and also so much company in the birds and frogs and that 13 year brood of cicadas.

    What Catherine thought you could improve about the experience:
    Ok, maybe it is a little dark in there, but I didn't mind, nope. You mentioned another bulb in the fixture, and that is likely what it needs. I rather like the little couch AND the rocker--I used them both. Once, I thought--oh if there were a coat hook on the wall, I'd use that--but no big deal--as I was there all by myself.

    May 2015

    Our stay at Goose Pond Cottage was excellent. It is in a very private setting in a very rural area. The cottage was well equipped with modern appliances and fixtures. Wi-fi worked great and there were many viewing options on the TV (But who wants to watch TV when you're trying to get away from it all. We saw more wildlife and birds around the immediate proximity of the cottage than we did in hours driving around Goose Pond itself. If privacy, solitude and the sounds of nature are a solace to you then Goose Pond Cottage is the place. The only interaction we had with the host was via email. We spoke very briefly with the caretaker one evening. That was all fine with us.


    What Richard loved about your listing:
    Being surrounded by the sounds of nature each morning.

    What Richard thought you could improve about the experience:
    I wish the seating was more comfortable.

    May 2015

    Very easy checkin process, simply enter the code and you're set! The place has decent enough wifi, and a great kitchen with enough room to cook a small dinner. Cozy during the winter but I bet even more fun to explore in the summer.

    February 2015


  •  

    The cabin was beautiful and everything as described. It was so easy in arranging the trip as well as directions. I would highly reccomend the cottage for anyone who wanted a weekend getaway!!!


    Private Feedback:
    John thank you so much for allowing us to get away for the weekend at the cottage. It was beautiful and we loved it.

    February 2015


  • January 2015


  •  

    My family had a wonderful Thanksgiving on the farm. The cottage was clean and had every item we needed already there! We were able to drive across the street and view their holiday lights which were streamed to the radio station. This trip ended up offering way more than what we expected. I would love to go again sometime.

    November 2014